查看: 17484|回复: 45
打印 上一主题 下一主题

[学校信息] Duke新生欢迎帖。一年级同学在此开贴回答关于Duke学习生活的各种问题。

[精华] [复制链接]
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2010-1-20 10:51:57 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式
Dear Duke Admitted Students,

I am a first year MBA student at Fuqua. First of all, congratulations on being admitted to Duke MBA program! You guys did an excellent job!

In order to help you make a decision of whether to accept this offer or not, OR help you make good preparation from now to the date of enrollment, here I open this post to take questions that you may have. I also learn that many of you will meet and network with each other. If you have common questions, you could also post questions as a group. I will try my best to help you, or direct the right people/resources. Though our responses are based on our personal experiences (not official), we want to do it in a way that we demonstrate "Team Fuqua"!

Once again, congratulations!

**********一点说明:

各位同学,

首先再次恭喜大家拿到Duke的Offer,并非常赞赏大家积极准备的行动力。

开此贴的目的,是尽我所能帮助大家解答有关在Duke学习和生活的问题。我想,问题大概分成这样三类:

第一类是经验经历类:类似于开学前的求职准备、学校的某个program有什么特色、club可以involve的活动等有关facts和experiences之类的问题,我亲身经历过或者观察过的,可以与大家分享感受与见闻;

第二类是规章流程类:类似于学校是否提供免费的幼儿园等有关学校在教学和运营管理上的规定,如果问题非常具体,我很可能没有亲身经历,最好的途径,是与学校直接取得联系,获取官方的解释;

第三类是介于两者之间的,类似于全部贷款是否在获得visa上有难度,规章流程上,要了解并按照既定程序来,这个需要自己下功夫,不能外包也不能偷懒;经验经历上,我一定会把我知道的分享给大家。

仅在这里做一点说明,希望我能够在有限的时间里尽最大努力帮助大家。
收藏收藏2 收藏收藏2
沙发
发表于 2010-1-20 11:03:04 | 只看该作者
果然非常collaborative
板凳
发表于 2010-1-20 11:07:39 | 只看该作者
这个要顶一下~
地板
 楼主| 发表于 2010-1-20 11:28:50 | 只看该作者
Here are some points to start with:

1 - Transition: DCSSA website (杜克大学中国学生学者联谊会). Under "New Comers" section, there are many useful materials for how to get prepared for transition. http://dukechina.org/blog/topics/3-new-comers

2 - Academics: if you are pure Fine Arts background, a BASIC level preparation of statistics and microeconomics is very helpful.

3 - English: frankly, if you speak good English, you will find your advantage (at least not a disadvantage) at school.