ChaseDream
搜索
12下一页
返回列表 发新帖
查看: 7008|回复: 10

CEIBS vs CMU

[复制链接]
发表于 2011-4-1 14:45:15 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Got accepted to both. Want to eventually go back to China to work for PE/VC firm, ideally international firm. Any suggestions? Thanks
发表于 2011-4-1 15:01:11 | 显示全部楼层
我觉得如果是确定要回来,不如在国内读,毕竟这个交际网络晚点有不如早点有。
发表于 2011-4-1 16:40:40 | 显示全部楼层
同意LZ的,如果就MBA项目质量而言,CMU要高一些,单纯是为了学习管理或者进外企的话我觉得比中欧有优势。但是如果在国内做PE/VC的话非常需要人脉,CEIBS在这方面很有优势。CMU的话,一毕业大家就各奔东西,回国并且还在PE或者实业里面做的少之又少,所能利用的网络太有限了
发表于 2011-4-1 16:51:51 | 显示全部楼层
Chances are slim for both to break into PE/VC, unless you have previous work experience.

The typical path would be IB/Consulting/Corporate BD to PE/VC. Considering which one helpls you better to  land a job in the above areas would be more realistic.
 楼主| 发表于 2011-4-2 00:34:59 | 显示全部楼层
I have been working for IB/hedge fund for the past 3 years as an analyst and given the current market status in the US, I see little room for growth in term of career path. I feel that China provides some great opportunities in either pe/vc, consulting or ib, but could I possibly get the same opportunities if I studied in CMU as compare to CEIBS and go back to China? If things don't go as planned in China, doesn't CMU provide me with a protection to work in the US?

I am typing English because somehow my language package on my PC is not functioning, thanks everyone.
发表于 2011-4-2 01:25:51 | 显示全部楼层
I tend to choose CEIBS over any non top-15 MBAs in the US (especially for anyone who wants to return to mainland China).  CEIBS has a great location and great network in China.  You cannot find too many non top-15 MBAs in the US that can provide this network and opportunity.

CMU is unlikely to get you into IBK or VC/PE.  Your best exit is S&T, consulting, and corporate finance.
发表于 2011-4-6 03:42:07 | 显示全部楼层
建议楼主去看看这些公司招人的背景,国际性的VC/PE很少有M7之外的MBA就直接进去的(关系户除外),一般都是在IB/MC做个几年,升上去了再跳的。至于国内的一些VC/PE公司,感觉根本就不care MBA的。
VC/PE这个圈子实在是小之又小,说实在的,这两个学校在这个圈子里的人都不多,要凭这两个MBA招牌进去的话,运气成分还是蛮大的。